The ACHS International Recognition Program is designed for healthcare organisations just beginning their quality improvement journey and are unable to meet the requirements of the entire EQuIP standards.

To encourage organisations to commence a focus on patient safety and quality using international standards, the Recognition Program provides a modular approach to EQuIP.

This provides a foundation for organisations to explore progressing to Certification or Accreditation in the future through a more manageable approach.

Please find more information about the Recognition Program below:



2 years per cycle with a maximum of 2 cycles possible per Module


Required and Membership benefits accessible


Some Achievement (SA) rating for all criterion included within the selected Recognition Module(s)


One (1) onsite assessment for each Recognition Module selected

Available Modules

You can select one or more of the following Recognition Modules:

  • Infection Control
  • Surgical Safety
  • Governance
  • Health Record Documentation
  • Assessment & Care Planning
  • Clinical Handover & Patient Discharge
  • Medication Management
  • Incident Management
  • Complaints Management
  • Appropriateness & Effectiveness
  • Environmental Management


  • Recognition is not required to progress to Certification
  • An organisation can select as many Recognition Modules as they feel is appropriate
  • Recognition Modules are valid for a two (2) year cycle and cannot be achieved for more than two (2) cycles or a total of four (4) years of Recognition per Module

We found that ACHS International was most suitable to us because the EQuIP program was clearly focusing on continuous improvement of care

Hemas Hospitals
- ACHS International Member